Explicit examples of “transfer” and use of “models”

In my posting What MUST teachers do to teach for “conceptual” transfer?, I stated five ideas.  I was then prompted by a comment from a reading to elaborate on my points, and I shared the example of using “concentric circles.

The TED Talk video below, by Eric Berlow, illustrates two of my ideas (possibly more).

2.  Teachers use physical and mental models, and teach students how to use them.

3.  Teachers make it explicit when “transfer” is happening to them personally.

Eric makes it explicit when transfer is happening for him and he uses models to teach.

About ibdanmagie

Generalist Educator that believes learning without action is wasteful. Transfer is an educational concept that resonates with me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

