The use of models to help me learn

In one of my first postings, I wrote about things teachers MUST do to promote conceptual transfer (a.k.a. learning :-)).  One of the items I suggested was using models when teaching and learning.

Since I teach in an IB World School, I have been introduced to the IB Learner Profile.  Which, I believe, is a model for learning.

The IB Learner Profile includes 10 learner characteristics or attributes.  The 10 IB Learner Profile attributes are said (by the International Baccalaureate Organization), to be the IB Mission Statement “translated into a set of learning outcomes for the 21st century”.

I strive to provide opportunities for my students to develop the understanding and awareness of the power of the IB Learner Profile.  I also strive to use it in my own life…

Recently I have been fortunate enough to work on a project with some extremely passionate and knowledgeable educators from all around the globe.  We have meet face-to-face a couple of times over the past six months, and in between time we have been communicating and collaborating via an online learning platform.  Here is a bit of my reflection derived from that work.

What I learned today/What I’m continuing to learn:

When I back-away from my first, initial, prior thought…it allows me to see things from various perspectives.  This, in turn, helps me make more informed judgements; and even if I return to my original idea, that idea is now all the more valid.

This is what I think, in one illustration at least, being an open-minded, reflective, inquiring, thinking person has helped me to actualize.  When I combine this approach with other characteristics of the learner profile, I become an effective contributor to “the cause”.  And to take it one step further, the real power has been working with others that have the same model to strive for!!!

I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments.  Regardless if you knew the 10 terms (listed below) as IB Learner Profile attributes or not, how has striving to “be” one/some/all of those characteristics benefited your learning; your life?  Please post a comment or let me know on twitter: danmagie.

IB Learners strive to be:

  • inquirers
  • knowledgeable
  • thinkers
  • communicators
  • principled
  • open-minded
  • caring
  • risk-takers
  • balanced
  • reflective.

Below is a video from the IB illustrating the IB Learner Profile.

http://blip.tv/play/gusrgqi0FAI

About ibdanmagie

Generalist Educator that believes learning without action is wasteful. Transfer is an educational concept that resonates with me.
This entry was posted in Reflection, Uncategorized, Videos and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The use of models to help me learn

  1. Ken says:

    Mr. Dan, cool blog!!!

    Ken 🙂

  2. ibdanmagie says:

    Thanks for reading, Ken!

Leave a Reply

