Time for reflection…I’ll be back in August

“A mind that is stretched by a new experience can never go back to its old dimensions.” –Oliver Wendall Holmes

As I come to the end of my 14th year as an educator, it is time for me to reflect on what I believe in…

I want to close my first “series” of educational blog postings with a Meta-Reflection.  I have discovered what I believe through experience in the classroom and through formal life long learning.  A primary source of what I have posted below is:

Bransford, John. How People Learn: Brain, Mind, Experience, and School. Washington,  D.C.: National Academy, 2000. Print.

People learn when:

  • They see purpose and relevancy to their own life or others’,

  • They receive specific feedback in a timely manner,

  • They are actively involved,

  • They have a chance to fail and try again, and

  • They have a chance to think about what they are doing (meta-cognition).

Effective teachers have the ability to:

  • Assess, activate, and use prior knowledge,

  • Involve student actively in authentic ways,

  • Use guided discussions and formative feedback to motivate learners,

  • Use models and big ideas to help learners organize knowledge (i.e. conceptual teaching and learning),

  • Promote transfer with activities and assessments that focus on meta-cognition.

In closing, I would like to end with a quote from James Levin:

“Follow effective action with quiet reflection.  From the quiet reflection will come, even more effective action.”

About ibdanmagie

Generalist Educator that believes learning without action is wasteful. Transfer is an educational concept that resonates with me.
This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

