Welcome Back!!!

“Quitting leads to much less happiness in life than perseverance and hope.” ~Salva Dut

What a great summer–time to enjoy family and friends and think about “Big Ideas” related to my profession as an educator.  Down-time from the day-to-day job is something I cherish and it always helps me come back to a new academic year with fresh ideas and a way forward.

Then, the realities of the profession come into play with various things that can be obstacles to my brainstormed plans from the summer.  Plans are made for changing…but when things get tough…it seems it is sometimes easier to just “give up”.  This is a feeling that I must honor, but then move past.  How?

Over the summer I began reading a new novel that will be part of the G7 curriculum this year: A Long Walk To Water by Linda Sue Park.  I read it leisurely, taking no notes, but thinking about how I would use it with students and other teachers (we are creating an interdisciplinary unit with Language A English, Humanities, and Science around concepts related to refugees and water).   I didn’t finish the book this summer…

Towards the end of my second work-day, I decided to sit down and read the rest of the novel.  Thank goodness I had saved it…the ending note directed to “young people” from Salva Dut helped bring perspective back to my thoughts.  I realized that if I want my students to develop these attributes, then I must be modeling them myself.  I would like to end my first posting of this academic year with an excerpt from his note.

“To young people, I would like to say: Stay calm when things are hard or not going right with you.  You will get through it when you persevere instead of quitting.  Quitting leads to much less happiness in life than perseverance and hope.”
Salva Dut

Rochester, New York

2010

About ibdanmagie

Generalist Educator that believes learning without action is wasteful. Transfer is an educational concept that resonates with me.
This entry was posted in Reflection and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

