Looking deeper…finding perspectives

As part of my job, I get to work with middle school aged students.  I love the perspective they can bring to me…but sometimes I need to pull that out of them.

This is a strategy that I’ve picked up from others and adapted and changed as I’ve used it with my students.  I also transfer a bit of Mathematics understanding as we use the quadrant system of I, II, III, IV (see quadrant explanation for more details about the “math” behind this strategy).  I use this strategy to view images in an analytical way.

PROCEDURE:

We are going to view an image…to help us tune-into the novel we will be studying.

Let’s use the quadrant technique to help us view critically.  Let’s number off to assign each person a specific quadrant (I, II, III, IV).

You can jot notes down or mentally file your ideas.

As an individual:

What do you see (first impressions)?

Can you look deeper (specific quadrant)?

How do the quadrants connect?

What do you think is happening outside the frame?

Have you considered all five senses (of the people/animals in the image…if no people/animals, image you are in the picture) ?

In small groups of at least four:

Now form complete “quadrant” groups (each group must have at least one member from I, II, III, and IV).

Discuss your thoughts to the last three questions (connections, outside frame, senses).

Depending on where you want to go “next”:

You might have a whole class discussion.

You might have an individual learning experience that uses the discussion as a prompt.

You may…it depends on your context and what you want to do with the perspectives that were gained because of the viewing experience.

LET US TRY (readers of this blog)!!!

First we need to assign quadrant groups.  I will use your birth-month.  If you were born in:

January-March: Quadrant I

April-June: Quadrant II

July-September: Quadrant III

October-December: Quadrant IV

After viewing the image and going through the guiding questions for individuals (listed above), post your thoughts in the comments below.  Specifically, post your thoughts to the last three questions (connections, outside the frame, senses).

Here is an image…

This image came from here.

What strategies do you use to help find perspective?

About ibdanmagie

Generalist Educator that believes learning without action is wasteful. Transfer is an educational concept that resonates with me.
This entry was posted in Strategies, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Looking deeper…finding perspectives

  1. ibdanmagie says:

    In connection to the viewing strategy I outlined in this posting, I just received a blog posting from Socrative Garden. It discusses two strategies for viewing…for more details about those strategies and t.socrative.com in general, check out this link http://socrativegarden.wordpress.com/2011/10/11/2-activities-for-language-learning-and-observation-skills/

    I plan to share a viewing strategy I use with video/film clips in my next posting.

    Thanks for reading,
    Dan

Leave a Reply

