The first step is starting…

A journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step. Lao Tzu quotes

I’ve written this blog posting in mind several times…but I haven’t posted since November!  I could list all the reasons why I haven’t posted, but that doesn’t help me.  Over the past couple months I’ve thought about writing a posting about:

*G7 personal lines of Inquiry in their Emotions in Media unit

*Being thankful about working in an IB World School as it has helped me develop my international mindedness (i.e. the time I had Iranian Educators visiting and a bomb was detonated in my city, supposedly by an Iranian).

*My favorite tweet of the past month: “Ruth Adams@rutha @henriettaMi Any marking done WITHOUT the child there is fruitless, ineffectual and therefore pointless. You’re better off gardening.”

And the list could go on…but I haven’t posted anything…

That is when I was reminded that my blog is about me, it is for me, and it is a place that I can be reflective.  I just have to take the first step again, I have to post something about me and my practice.  Here it is, the first step in getting something done is starting!

Some of my favourite quotes to support this thought:

There are two mistakes one can make along the road to truth…not going all the way, and not starting. Buddha quotes

Every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end. Seneca quotes

The beginning is the most important part of the work. Plato quotes

The first step towards getting somewhere is to decide that you are not going to stay where you are.” ~Unknown

I hope to be back sooner than last time :-).

Thanks for reading.  Do you have a story about “first steps”?

PS:  Now, I better go finish writing my mid-term reports 🙂

 

 

About ibdanmagie

Generalist Educator that believes learning without action is wasteful. Transfer is an educational concept that resonates with me.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The first step is starting…

  1. Lina says:

    First steps are always a very special and unique event. It doesn’t matter if it’s the first day at work, starting to get your fitness back or just trying something new in class. I realized, the more often you do new things, small first steps or even big ones, after a while your emotions will progress from being terrified to being neutral to being enjoyable. And that’s where I’m currently at and I love it!

  2. ibdanmagie says:

    Thanks for contributing, Lina! What has been one of your latest “first steps”?

  3. @vanweringh says:

    I hear what you’re saying.
    We are undertaking the first steps towards becoming an MYP school. I’m Head of the Humanities department so quite a bit of reading, rewriting and rethinking to do.

    And I’m in the same boat as you: I should be writing reports…… But it’s much more fun being on twitter and reading blogs! 😉

Leave a Reply

